ANOTHER REASON TO USE ADOBE LIGHTROOM…

Screen Shot 2014-07-10 at 7.21.34 PM

Here’s a straight up cut and paste from Adobe Blog’s Lightroom Journal, and posted by Tom Hogarty.  Basically, if you are up to date with LIghtroom 5.5 and your subscription expires, you are locked out of the Develop Module and the Map Module, but the rest works.  So don’t worry.  You won’t lose your images or your work.  Between this, and between Aperture kicking the bucket, I suspect more shooters will be jumping on board.  Oh yeah, they are still offering a Lightroom and Photoshop bundle for $9.99 per month… creative.adobe.com/plans

What happens to Lightroom after my membership ends?

By Tom Hogarty

Since the launch of the Creative Cloud, Adobe has engaged in an ongoing dialog with the photographic community. We’ve tackled mobile workflows, provided ongoing enhancements and lastly, provided a membership plan tailor made for all levels of photographers. With the latest update to Lightroom 5.5 I believe we’ve also addressed a lingering concern in the community: What happens to my photographs after my membership ends?  With Lightroom 5.5, at the end of a membership, the desktop application will continue to launch and provide access to the photographs managed within Lightroom as well as the Slideshow, Web, Book or Print creations that we know many photographers painstakingly create. The Develop and Map modules have been disabled in order to signal the end of the membership and the need to renew in order to receive Adobe’s continuous innovation in those areas. Access to Lightroom mobile workflows will also cease to function. We hope this meets the expectations of our customers and we look forward to an ongoing dialog.